Crochet Beginner – Thankful for YouTube Tutorials!

Good Morning, Friends!

I am so sorry for the late post this week, but never the less – better late than never, right?!

A couple weekends ago, I got a wild hair up my butt and decided I was going to try and crochet a little beanie for my baby. I loved all the ones I found on Pinterest and Etsy, but I just didn’t want to spend $20-$30 on a beanie that she would maybe wear one time. So, I thought to myself… well I know how to crochet a basic line, it can’t be too hard to make a hat right?…. haha. So I found a free pattern on Pinterest on Repeat Crafter Me, for a newborn beanie and I set out on my journey which consisted of YouTubing what every new crochet term meant and how to do it, and one very ugly hat on the first attempt. Like I’m not kidding, it was not pretty, and with as large as the holes were, it wasn’t going to be keeping anyone’s head warm!

My second attempt turned out so much better, I swapped out the crochet hook I had which was an H 5.5mm and used a G 4.5mm. I think that helped a lot with keeping the stitches more tight, and I also figured that you don’t want to give it too much slack while you’re crocheting. Below is my second attempt! I was going for a little fox beanie. I may still add the face and nose part, but I’m still debating it, I kind of like it just how it is. Simple, but super cute. I’m not sure if maybe I did something wrong or added too many rows, but for some reason my hat doesn’t really seem “new-born” sized, maybe closer to the 0-3 month size? Either way, she’ll grow into it and get to wear it at least once. 🙂

img_6877

If you’ve never crocheted but always been interested in, you should definitely give it a try. There are so many tools online now a days for beginners to get started! I literally would type in to the YouTube search bar things like “Half Double Crochet” and tons of tutorials would pop up just for that one search. Crocheting is really relaxing too once you get it down! My first attempt I started stressing out a little bit because I knew I wasn’t doing it right, and I was thinking too hard on how to do each row and how many was I at, the key is to just have fun, you can always start over! Give it a try and make sure to share your photos on Instagram with the hashtag #xokeevescrochet so that I can see all your fun patterns and designs!!

~XO, K

Leave a Reply

